Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings – Back in the Saddle

Monday Musings – Back in the Saddle


I  was at the Lori Foster Reader and Author Get Together over the weekend. Easily my favorite conference. I’m pretty much on drag-butt mode right now, but I’m feeling good about the event. I spent a lot of time getting to know new people and reacquainting myself with people I already knew. I sold some books, participated in events and giveaways for charity, and laughed a lot. It’s really nice to get out of my writing cave for a couple of days and meet actual, flesh and blood people with faces and voices. After several unbroken months of only online interaction, it’s easy to forget that there are real people behind the digits on the screen. #:0)

What I’m always struck with at these conferences are the vast differences between the people who work in, and enjoy the fruits of, the literary world. I guess, if you look at the wide, wide range of books and stories available, it makes sense that the people who write and/or read them would be an eclectic collection. #:0) I was personally part of many fascinating conversations, covering everything from social media to the business of writing, and the challenges and joys of my own writing plan and books. Everyone I spoke with was kind and pleasant. We all enjoyed the same level of excitement to be able to speak “book-ese” with someone who understands our passion. But we didn’t just talk books. We touched on family, pets, work and even societal challenges. It was like a giant sleepover with hundreds of my closest friends.

It’s why I return to this conference year after year. The experience re-energizes me and reminds me why I do what I do. So it’s back to the cave for me! I’m feeling inspired.

 

 

Leave a Reply

