Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings – Facing Challenges

Monday Musings – Facing Challenges


Last week one of my dogs ran under the car as I was coming up the drive and he now has a broken leg and fractured tail. He was lucky. This morning three of my dogs fought and my sweet little cattle dog alpha is now at the vet getting stitches. She was lucky too. It was horrible. I’m still an emotional mess.

Sometimes it seems like life just kicks you in the ribs and then, while you’re gasping for breath, hits you over the head. I’m waiting for the shoe enema which is sure to come. After all, they say bad things always come in threes.

I don’t want a third bad thing. Especially if it has to do with my dogs. I’m already reeling.

When you have times like this your first thought is often to go to bed and pull the covers over your head. I always give that option some thought and then reject it. I’m much better if I’m proactive. The worst thing about having bad things happen to you is the feeling that you have no control. Being proactive puts you in control again. Then you need to fix or at least repair as best you can the results. Sometimes the best you can do is take steps to make sure it doesn’t happen again. As unsatisfactory as these actions might be, they’re positive steps in the right direction.

Most important is an awareness that the bad will pass and the good will return. That might be the hardest thing of all. But it is true. And a positive outlook can go a long way toward making you feel better.

That’s what I’m working on right now. #:0)

Positive thoughts everybody!

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings – Facing Challenges

  1. Thanks Carly, I still hear the sound of it in my head and shudder. But I’m trying to focus on the fact that he survived…thank god…and he’s getting better every day.

Leave a Reply

