Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings – The World Sleeps…or Rather Hides

Monday Musings – The World Sleeps…or Rather Hides


I hate Thanksgiving week.

That’s a strong statement I know, but it’s true. Trying to get anything accomplished during Thanksgiving week is an exercise in sheer frustration. Electricians won’t call you back, plumbers shun you, and clients duck you like you carry the bubonic plague.  I understand that people don’t want to work on Thanksgiving or the day after. I get that. But nobody will work the other three days either. Even people who are working aren’t working.  They might be on the clock, but they’re ducking my ass…big time. It’s like they’re afraid if they talk to me I’ll somehow force them to work on Thanksgiving…

Hmm…  

No, I can’t do that. Dangit! If I had even one tenth of the magical powers my characters have, I tell ya…

But rest assured, there is one group of people who’re working this week. It’s the hardest working group I know. This group works nights, mornings, weekends, holidays. They give up sleep to work. They sacrifice family time and vacations. I’ve had no trouble communicating with my fellow authors this week. Yeah, we’re all still working while the rest of the world huddles in their desk chairs, ignoring the phone and trying to disappear while they drool on their keyboards dreaming of turkey and stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, sweet potatoes with those cute little marshmallows, soft, sweet rolls…gulp…and pumpkin pie with whipped cream. 

Blink. What was I saying?

Oh yeah, so let this be a warning to you. Writers will one day take over the world. That’s right. 

Be afraid. Be very afraid!

 

Leave a Reply

