Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings – Slogging Toward my Future

Monday Musings – Slogging Toward my Future


Change.

That’s the watchword for my life right now. I’ve undergone major changes that have all been self-instigated. I’ll admit I thrive on change. Change jazzes me…jolts my creative juices. I like to mix it up every once in a while because if I don’t I get complacent…lazy. But sometimes I instigate change because it’s necessary. In this case, I determined that both of my major changes were imperative. One was personal–an attempt to reduce my economic footprint so I could enjoy life more; and the other was professional–meant to remove a limiting and negative force from my writing world.

Both will be very good for me eventually. And both have been Hell on Earth initially. #:0)

My family recently downsized our home so we could spend less time doing things we don’t want to do and refocus our efforts on things we enjoy. By any measure that’s a good goal. But it’s definitely easier said than done. After several weeks we’re finally starting to feel settled and the house is beginning to feel like home.

The second change was an important professional one for me. For some time I’ve been frustrated by one of my publishers’ lack of professionalism. This publishing house had one of my favorite and most popular series but they weren’t doing anything to help me grow it. I had lots of ideas for how to make the series better but met with lukewarm interest and no follow-thru. So I bit the bullet and started the process to get my rights back. It’s been painful but I knew it was the right thing for the books, my readers, and my career as an author. The good news is that I finally got my rights back on the books and I’ve been busily working to make them available again.  It’s been a tedious but important process re-editing the books and getting them fresh new covers and I’m glad I’ve done it.  As I move the series into its next generation, I’ll do so with the knowledge that the books are the best I can make them.

So these days change rules my life. Everything changes. Life is a process after all. But how you fare under these changes depends on whether you embrace or resist them. I decided a long time ago to embrace change and wring everything I could from it. But having said that, I’ll admit the last couple have been hard on me emotionally. I’m sure I’ll come out of the experience stronger and feeling more settled, but for now I’ll have to be happy with the satisfaction of reaching for my goals and finding them within my grasp.

Not a bad goal in itself. #:0)

Happy reading everybody!

 

 

Leave a Reply

