Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings – Small Bites, Large Appetite

Monday Musings – Small Bites, Large Appetite


I have a problem. I guess it’s a small problem in the scheme of things, but it feels kind of big to me.

I’m impatient.  I want things to happen now and of course real life rarely accommodates my urgent timetable.

It’s a constant source of frustration for me. And I’m not sure how to deal with it. I keep thinking that I’ll eventually grow patience like I’ve grown slightly thicker skin over the years. But it doesn’t seem to be happening. I don’t feel any more patient now than I did ten years ago. In fact I might be worse.

So I ask myself, how does one deal with the tight chest feeling and anger that comes from wanting something to happen quickly and realizing that it isn’t going to, no matter how hard you try to make it so? I try to distract myself. I try being proactive, looking for ways to beat the system. I try gritting my teeth and stomping my feet.  Alas, none of that works (so surprising). The universe has its own timetable and it could give a flying frog about mine. Telling myself I’m impatient because I have goals helps a little. It turns a negative into a partial positive. I mean, having goals is important and good. It gives every day meaning and offers many opportunities for success. Goals are good. But the journey to meeting them can’t be fraught with frustration or it takes away from the healthy aspect of setting the goals.

So how do I deal?

I’ve decided to set smaller goals. That’s all smoke and mirrors, you say? I don’t think so. Meeting a goal is a real accomplishment. Even if the goal is a small one. Meeting a small goal along the way to a big one gives you the energy to keep slogging and fighting toward the ultimate objective, turning frustration into positive energy.

No matter how you look at it, that’s all good.

 

Leave a Reply

