Home » Monday Musings » Monday Musings – Hold On by Alabama Shakes – Great advice

Monday Musings – Hold On by Alabama Shakes – Great advice


I recently discovered a band that sings what could best be described as a hybrid of soul and rock. The music of Alabama Shakes really speaks to me. The song that introduced me to them is Hold On. The lyrics are inspiring because of the message of persevering through the ups and downs of life. Reading between the lines, and given that this appears to be a relatively unknown group, I think I know what they’re saying, and I can definitely identify.

Alabama Shakes is a group of aspiring artists (music), I’m an aspiring artist (books) and I certainly know what it feels like to run up against wall after wall in my journey toward the stars in the sky. The key is just to grab hold of your dream and shove it forward day by day, hour by hour, minute by minute. Some days you’ll make great strides. Others you’ll feel like you’re pulling the moon with your teeth. It all evens out.

Instant success is rare. What’s much more common is the long, slow slog of pursuit, ending in moderate but satisfying success. I decided a long time ago that I was up for that slog. Because the end result is my goal…but the pursuit is my passion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Le-3MIBxQTw

See you on the slog!

Leave a Reply

